Bento 10~

I cheated again!  I really should just admit that as much as I’d love to have time to make a specific bento for myself (possibly my hubby too) I just don’t have enough time!  Leftovers are, therefore, going to play a bigger part in my bentos.

Time is of the essence! Presenting, Mother’s-Day-Leftover-Bento! It was yummy!  I ate it this past Monday and can say I thoroughly enjoyed my lunch at work =)

IMG_2324*Not pictured is a small container of margarine to go on my baked potato.

This bento included …
A baked potato (made the Alton Brown way)
Green Bean Casserole (made my Mom’s way)
Corn and Peppers (made the Martha Stewart way though without some of the spice)
Cheese Sandwiches (essentially left over Texas Toast and some cheese)

The Green Bean Casserole is basically a take on the classic Campbell’s Soup Recipe. Except made with all things approved by my Mom. Though she is not a vegan, she is very selective and is always 100% certain about the ingredients in her vegetarian meals.

Green Bean Casserole Ingredients
3 Cans of Green Beans (drained)
1 Can of Amy’s Cream of Mushroom Soup
          A ton of Fried Onions (or the near entire contents of this bag [mine was purchased at Costco])
Salt and Pepper to your liking

I don’t add milk because since the soup is not as condensed as a Campbell’s can would be
there is enough moisture without the milk. I cook it on 350 for 15 minutes, then stir and adjust the
temperature if it isn’t hot enough. Usually I up it to 375-400 for the next 15 minutes. I then remove
it to stir and additional time, add more Fried Onions on top and let it crisp up in the oven for 5
more minutes, 10 minutes max.

Super easy. Even if I made tons of unrelated food for a family meal, I have to make this too. It would be a crime not to. My Grandma might literally arrest me.

You’ll notice that there is not any Vegetarian Chili in my bento (posted about earlier in the week), this is because I made the Chili extra spicy and … I don’t like spicy food =( I like cookies and cakes!! I don’t like spicy or sour things =(

More posts coming soon!  I really enjoy looking forward to what I’ll post about next, gives me another thing I can be happy about! =)

Leave a Reply

