World Vegetarian Day ~

October 1st was World Vegetarian Day! Having been a vegetarian for quite sometime I feel bad that I’d never heard of such a holiday before! However, besides continuing to be a vegetarian myself I’m not sure how else I would celebrate it!
Thanks to my husband though I now at least know it exists! He sent me a news article, that he saw through the new Apple News feed, with a recipe for the day!

So, I made it!
Here is a link to the recipe itself: Siracha Sliders. It’s pulled from a website called Care2 … I’d never heard of it before either.
This recipe was a bit of a risk since we’d never tried Siracha and I’m not a big fan of tempeh … I prefer regular old TVP 🙂 lol

If you glanced at the recipe’s website long enough to look at the picture you’ll see the tempeh is clearly coated in a brown sauce (looks like BBQ sauce to me). Well, nothing in the ingredients is brown so I wasn’t that surprised when my sliders came out red …

The recipe sauce and the tempeh steaks, getting their flavor on =p

The recipe sauce and the tempeh steaks, getting their flavor on =p

Some onions on the side, they were not soaked in Siracha

I don't think the picture from the recipe was actually this recipe ...

I don’t think the picture from the recipe was actually this recipe …

Verdict: these did not get eaten. We saved the bread, buttered it and ate it. Tossed the tempeh. It was too spicy for me for sure! Now, I have a jar of Siracha sauce in my fridge for the foreseeable future …

I love to try new recipes though, do it all the time, and I’d say a lot of the time it doesn’t  work out … I just keep trying though! Thanksgiving is coming up so I’ll be doing some recipe tests pretty soon! ((I don’t like to make the same things every year)) 🙂

Leave a Reply

