Mummy Cupcakes and My Disneyland Trick or Treat Haul ~~

So, as I mentioned in another post, these few weeks are busy busy! Thursday morning, in order to keep to my schedule, I baked cupcakes! They needed to be ready for work on Friday after all!

This was my first time making chocolate chip cupcakes and they turned out great!

I pulled the recipe from, here! Since it turned out great, I think I’ll spend some more time on her blog! It’s called Taste of Lizzy T’s, seems like a great place!

As with basically everything I make, of course I changed the recipe a bit. I don’t have cake flour so I made sure to add Baking soda. I also didn’t have mini-chocolate chips so I used normal sized ones. Also… it was early so I didn’t really measure anything! =( I know baking is supposed a “science” but really … I’m not going for perfection I’m going for “yummy treat” and measuring takes time and dirties additional items that I just have to wash later so …

Batter, half gone at this point!

Batter, half gone at this point!

I didn’t quite have enough to fill all 24 cupcake liners so I ended up with 22 cupcakes, plenty to pass around!

Batch #2 ready for the oven! ~~

Batch #2 ready for the oven! ~~

Likely because I didn’t bother to measure anything, they were a bit dense. Also, I think using the regular sized chocolate chips meant they kind sunk to the bottom lol!! Still, the taste was there and with the frosting I label these a “success”…

Coming out of the oven ...

Coming out of the oven …

Ready to coooool ~~

Ready to coooool ~~

So the plan, as I had it in my mind, was to go to Disneyland Thursday night for Mickey’s Halloween Party, then wake up early Friday morning to frost the cupcakes… Proud to say “mission accomplished”!

Woke up with my husband at 6:30~ this morning and got to work!

The trappings of frosting cupcakes!!

The trappings of frosting cupcakes!!

I got out my 9 hole cupcake carrier (was actually given to me with cupcakes in it by a co-worker a while back) so my husband could take some to work! I took some to work too and am saving the rest for my Dad! I had planned on using the remainder of the green frosting from the cake I made earlier in the week but got lazy? Tired? Exhausted? Take a pick and instead used Reese’s Pieces and M&Ms … for the eyes of course!

Oh don’t want to forget this pic, so cute!

The cute cupcake liners I used, picked them up last year on clearance after Halloween ~~

The cute cupcake liners I used, picked them up last year on clearance after Halloween ~~

Buttercream Mummies~~~

IMG_2954

oooOOOOooooOOOOooOOooOoo

I learned while doing this that it is a good idea to start some rows on one side and to alternate. That way you don’t have too uneven looking cupcakes where one side is all nice and the other side a bit less so … Again, though, I’m not a professional I just want “cute” and “yummy” not “perfect”!! ~~

Close ups are a must~

Close ups are a must~

Lastly my candy haul from Disneyland and a shot of the castle!  The Halloween decorations were amazing!!! =)

First get candy then ask for a treat ~

First get candy then ask for a treat ~

That is the candy/treat haul after separating out all of the Starburst and Almond Joy to give away to strangers … we’re not fans lol

Purple and Green~~

Purple and Green~~

I, as always, had fun baking these! And, I am definitely going to the Halloween Party at Disneyland every year for the rest of my life!!

Halloween is tomorrow, I’ll post pics! =)

Leave a Reply

