Thanksgiving 2014 ~

Last year at this time I was enjoying the life of a full time student between having left my previous career in October and not getting started in a new one until this past Spring. As such, I probably went a little overboard with the Thanksgiving cooking last year … I had time! =)

Since I’m a vegetarian, I did make a Vegetarian Thanksgiving spread …

Here are the recipes I used (still have some them book marked):
Mushroom Gravy – this was delicious and will be making it again this year
Green Bean Casserole – Family favorite, I don’t follow the recipe exactly as I tweek things to get it    perfect to our family’s taste buds =p
Candied Yams – not sure if this is the exact recipe since I have three book marked.. in general though I don’t like Candied Yams, won’t be making this again …
Turkey-less Stuffed Roast – I love these things!

I also made some oven roasted potatoes and carrots, crescent rolls, steamed cauliflower, and some bread stuffing … Sadly, I have the recipe for the bread stuffing, which was delicious, but I didn’t save where I got it from!

Bread Stuffing
Ingredients:

4 Cups Bread Cubes
1/2t of Thyme, Sage, Salt, Pepper
3T of minced Parsley
1T Nutritional Yeast
1/2 Cup of chopped Onion
3T melted Butter
2T Soy Sauce
1/2 Cup Vegetable Broth
1/2 Cup grated Parmesan Cheese
1/2 Cup chopped Walnuts
1/2 Cup chopped Celery

The recipe I have has additional options and other “add-in” items but what I posted is what I actually made last year.

Directions:
Basically mix everything together, put it in a casserole dish and bake it in the oven at 350° for 45 minutes ~~

The stuffing was yummy, I made it a few times last fall and will make it soon. Writing it all out makes me remember how yummy it was!

I don’t know how I goofed on this, though I didn’t have a blog back then, I didn’t take a picture of all of the food!! Shame on me =(

Closely Cropped =p

Closely Cropped =p

Woah, I forgot until I saw this but I made Lemonade … I don’t even like Lemonade but I had a friend give me a giant bag of Lemons like the week before Thanksgiving …

Here is a pic of the roast (done) and the candied yams (while cooking)

IMG_0284IMG_0285

I think we had a store bought **gasp** Pumpkin pie and these little mini-cookies for dessert =) I made the mini-cookies by the way! ~~

Reese's in PB Cookies ~

Reese’s in PB Cookies ~

But the reason I wanted to post this, the reason I dug up these pictures is because I made a Bread Cornucopia!!!! Who does that? I did ….

I remember seeing the pictures on Pinterest and tracing them down to this website: Lily Shop. She shows how she made them for her family and I followed her directions closely!
How to Make a Cornucopia

Looks like she also made some Pumpkin Pie Sugar Cookies this year!  They are popular …

Anyways, it was a lot of work!  I did not make the dough by hand I used the Trader Joe’s Refrigerated Pizza Dough that they sell. I think it turned out amazing!

Oh yeah, amazeballs ~~

Oh yeah, amazeballs ~~

I have a whole three pictures of it not staged on a pizza stone =p Kind of looks like a face hugger …

Untitled

It was difficult and fun to make .. I don’t think my family “got it” or appreciated it as being as amazing as it was but … I guess … it really was just bread lol

Thanksgiving is less than two weeks away!  Not sure if I’m cooking yet this year, might not know until next week! Ahhhh! =)

Leave a Reply

