7 Days Until Christmas: Cracker “Crack”

I love this stuff! I had a co-worker before who would make these and give them out in gift bags to the managers and supervisors at work … except me … I tried not to take that personally! Sometimes, though, she would make a batch and leave it in the break room and then I would dig in!

Last year, having left retail permanently, I had to learn to make my own or forever forego eating this delicious treat! This really takes barely 10 minutes to put together and once it’s hardened up in the freezer it’s ready to eat!

Day 2 of Round 2 ~

Day 2 of Round 2 ~

Every time I make this I want to add more than just a cup of sugar and every time I stop myself. I always think the mixture looks too “buttery” but it works!

Heating up ~

Heating up ~

Melted ~

Melted ~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

While the mixture heats up I lay out a layer of crackers. On a standard size cookies sheet, I fit a full package of crackers +4 or so …

Crackers!!

Crackers!!

I enlisted some more photography help here. Look at that gooey sugar sauce!

Starting ...

Starting …

Spreading ...

Spreading …

You don’t need to move too fast with this, the sauce stays warm for a long time. It is actually really good to take your time here so that you don’t disrupt the crackers too much. If you’re quick in pouring then your sauce goes under the crackers instead of on top!

2 minutes ~

2 minutes ~

Not going for perfection in spreading out everything to the edge. That would take too long and I said this was done in 10 minutes! I’m a woman of my word!

Chocolate Chip Time!

Chocolate Chip Time!

Then sprinkle on the Chocolate Chips! The first time I did this I was thinking “What now?” at this point. My mind did not comprehend the awesome melting power of Chocolate Chips! Now I grasp the concept and wait 30 seconds to a minute and then smoosh the chips!

Results are quick!

Results are quick!

One last picture before going into the freezer to set!

IMG_3794

About 2 hours later, give or take, bring them out and they are nice and hardened up!!

Frozen solid ...

Frozen solid …

Break and enjoy!

Yummy!

Yummy!

This is so easy to do and seems a lot more complicated to other people! I’m looking forward to taking these to work tomorrow!

We’re nearly half way in my Christmas count down … tomorrow’s post will be … ahhh! I dunno yet … both cake and cheesecake take a lot of time!! ¬†I dunno where all my extra time is and all I can think of is how impossible this week would have been if my Grad Classes had still been going on!

Tomorrow’s post is a surprise! =p

Leave a Reply

