Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting … !!!

I had carrots and a nice big bag of walnuts from Costco and thought to myself “I really want carrot cake … time to learn to make it!”

It wasn’t nearly as hard as I thought, just a few more steps than normal cupcakes, and I’m very happy with how they turned out! I only made enough batter for 9 cupcakes, what would I do with more than that? So, if you want to use this recipe but need more cupcakes, just start doubling or tripling amounts … it’s science =p

img_4289

Full disclosure … I did not have any nutmeg. When I make these again, I’ll be sure to get some beforehand … not sure why I didn’t have any in the first place really. The cupcakes are yummy without the nutmeg so if you too don’t have any, no worries and bake away anyways!

 

img_4290

Before adding the carrots and walnuts, everything looked pretty normal. Then things got weird …

img_4291

This was not pleasing to look at … not attractive at all … but I kept going, no point to stopping now!

img_4292

Remember I mentioned making enough batter for 9? Well, I over filled two of my cups and therefore only got 8 =( But, even numbers are nice so that’s good …

img_4296

Sometimes, or most times, when you bake the house smells lovely … Carrot Cake Cupcakes did not smell lovely while cooking .. the house smelled like I had a pan of carrots in the oven and things weren’t going well …

img_4295

I baked the cupcakes before work in the morning and then frosted them in the evening. It works out nicely that way, on days when I don’t have class, the kitchen is nice and cool in the evening =)

img_4297

Just like this is my first time making carrot cake, this is also my first time making cream cheese frosting! I’ve only ever had crummy cream cheese frosting up to this point because I never liked it much … but this? This was amazing! Incredible really!! It tasted like cheese cake!! What??? I thought it was just me who thought that too but when my Dad ate one he said the same thing! Pretty cool, will definitely be making more cream cheese frosting and put it on … everything!

img_4298

I had a little leftover that I made sure to tuck away safely in the fridge for reasons not yet known!

img_4299

See lumpy there on the right? He’s part of the reason we only got 8!

img_4303

I’m thinking this is the best thing I’ve baked so far this year =p Super duper yummy! ~~

2 thoughts on “Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting … !!!

Leave a Reply

