Mixed Berry Scones ~

So, I have never made scones before … nor have I ever made anything that had the words “mixed berry” in the name .. I’ve never been a “berry” person .. but, ya know, I’m trying to branch out. Be a bigger person. Grow in my interests … that kind of thing =p

img_4356

Recipe called for Strawberry Preserves … yeah, I didn’t have that …

Big problem with that is that I don’t like Strawberries .. the flavor is fine … but the seeds? I hate the seeds … really really don’t want them in my mouth …

Here is a picture of the roughly combined dry goods + butter. I didn’t bother to cream the butter before hand so it is super clumpy … I didn’t think this was a bad thing though and I think this is what the recipe had in mind!

img_4358

I just thought this looked neat before I mixed the eggs with the cream/milk. Also, no vanilla extract yet … it just looked so serene ~~

img_4359

When I started to add in the blueberries and the strawberries, I noticed a significant up-kick in the moisture content of my mixture …

img_4361

Honestly, I thought it looked gross! I also didn’t want to mush up the berries too much so I pulled the bowl off of the mixer and did the rest by hand … literally … that spatula there was no help at all! Oh and my sink is full of dirty dishes (not really here or there but super relevant to me)!

img_4363

Awe look at that pitiful amount of flour on that cutting board? Is that enough? I don’t think so!  I think I ended up using another cup or so of flour to get this mixture to be more dough like instead of just a gooey mess that really liked to stick to everything …

img_4366

Maybe I added a bit too much flour … this is how the first set of scones looked before going into the over. Then I reformed the rest of the dough to get a few more before I just gave up and threw the rest of it away … I didn’t know what to do with it at that point … it was still super sticky and kinda messy and did I mention gooey? It was gooey too …

img_4367

Second time rolling out the same dough

img_4368

I used a pizza cutter to get the triangles

img_4369

This group rose up a bit higher before baking than the first group …

The recipe I used asked me to bake them at 350 for 20 minutes … after the first 20 minutes … well, they were not done and the butter seemed to be oozing out so I raised up the temperature to 375 and set a 5 minute timer. I think that was the best course of action … ya, definitely!

img_4370

Batch #2

img_4371

Batch #1

They ended up being in the oven a little longer than 25 minutes overall. They had a nice light brown crust on the bottom and I’m assuming that the top will look more appetizing when I add the icing in the next step! =)

So here is what they look like after spending a day in the fridge. Not so appetizing here either … but I was really hopeful!

I mixed together some melted butter, powdered sugar, and vanilla extract and got this? It was like a spread more than an icing drizzle .. the taste was right but the consistency wasn’t

The taste was super good after popping them in the microwave for a few seconds. Sugary, soft and yummy! I don’t think I’ll be making these again though and I don’t know what to do with the rest of the scones … hoping I can give them to someone who likes Strawberry seeds more than me lol =)

Leave a Reply

