Hello Fresh: Week 4 Day 3

Alright! I need to get this one done, it’s taken me two weeks to post these three meals! Crazy and really not an effective posting strategy …

This meal/recipe was Summer Ratatouille! Yum! There was an ant in this box … I’m sure it came from my front porch (and not from Hello Fresh) but I didn’t like seeing it either way!

If there is such a thing as a “favorite onion” then the shallot is mine! Small, doesn’t make me cry, and tastes great in everything I’ve put it in! As pictured above, this recipe included pre-made tortellini, eggplant, zucchini, red bell pepper, tomato, shallot, garlic, parmesan cheese, and basil.

Step 1 was to prepare the eggplant and roast it with a little bit of oil, salt, and pepper.

Next was to dice the shallot and bell pepper to begin cooking them down in a pan!

It was a little strange. Step 1 in the recipe included dicing the tomato. But, the word tomato was not mentioned again throughout the whole recipe … Also, the pictured tortellini was tiny and the actual ones they sent were really big!

There we go cooking down the bell peppers with shallots and garlic =) This part made the house smell pretty!

So, now we have a pan cooking in the oven, a pan cooking on the stove and now we cut basil and then put another pan on the stove! Three pans, 1 knife, a stirring spoon, tongs, cutting board … it’s endless …

There they are, the tortellini. So, it was about ten tortellini each for my husband and myself. They were good and filling to eat!

At this point, I had about 10 minutes of time while things finished cooking. So, here is a picture of my empty bowls … I definitely made this meal within the stated 30 minute range!

When the zucchini was done cooking, I was to add it (and the tomatoes) the pan with the bell pepper, onion, and garlic (I guess there was oil too). Together they made beautiful music!

I wish I could make some Disney’s Ratatouille references but I’ve only seen it once and don’t remember it all that well. I have seen Zootopia upwards of 10 times but that isn’t related to this meal …

So, I was strictly waiting for the tortellini to finish cooking now … I wanted to be sure it was done but not over done so I followed the cooking directions! I find doing that really helps! =p

Now with more tortellini!

Now with more parmesan cheese!

Now mixed and ready to serve!

Review time! I loved this! 5 stars out of 5! I will surely be making this again (maybe with smaller tortellini) and I will enjoy it just as much! We both ate the whole thing and it was super filling!

I really recommend looking this recipe up on the Hello Fresh site because it was actually yummy!

Leave a Reply

