Homemade Peanut Butter Cookies ~

I haven’t had much free time (isn’t that just my favorite song to sing?)! In June, finals and end of quarter stuff made me really busy. Then, I went ahead and started a new job! And, then, I took a quick whirlwind vacation with the Husband! Woah!

But, about three weeks ago (omg I’m so late in posting!) I did have some time to throw together some peanut butter cookies for Father’s Day. They were fun to make and they turned out delicious!

img_8415This is a super basic recipe: peanut butter (half cup), sugars (white; half cup, brown; half cup), flour (two cups-ish), butter (half cup), baking powder (1 tsp), baking soda (1 tsp), salt. Uhm, I think that is what is was …

I made the dough and then chilled it in the fridge for about 30 minutes. I only pulled enough out at a time to make one or two sheets of cookies. If I take it all out and wait to cook the cookies, it’s like I shouldn’t have even bothered chilling the dough!

Also, I’ve discovered something amazing! There is a true reason that detailed cookie recipes say what weight to make each pre-cooked cookie ball. And, that is because if you make them small and uniform they cook nicely without going all flat and crunch! Amazing!

img_8417Once you add in the sugars, of various colors, it is important to make sure your butter is fully incorporated. When I make things that aren’t cookies … I’m not sure what those things are at the moment, but I’m sure I make things that aren’t cookies … I don’t care nearly as much about butter incorporation. But with cookies it is so important! I burned out two hand mixers in my quest for perfectly incorporated butter before getting a stand mixer. But, stand mixers are expensive so if I happen to burn this one out I might not replace it … nevermind, I would … how would I make cookies without it!

 

 

img_8418

img_8419

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After the sugar is incorporated, I added the rest of the essential ingredients minus the flour and peanut butter. The peanut butter because I forgot and the flour because I always add that last.

img_8420

img_8421

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alright, I managed to add in the peanut butter and the flour to get the picture up there on the right side. That is basically when I decided that making plain peanut butter cookies was nice but, what if I added some Reese’s Pieces? That would be better!

img_8422img_8424

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, I halved the cookie dough and mixed in a ton of Reese’s Pieces into one half! Then, just like I mentioned above, I stuck the dough in the fridge to get nice and cool!

img_8423img_8426

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Since, the first batch was traditional cookies, I made sure to press the bottom of a fork into the tops to get the little lines =)

img_8430

I set a timer for baking these and actually stuck to it. I had recently read that if you take the cookies out of the oven before they’re done then you won’t over cook them and they’ll be perfect!

img_8428

img_8431

Oh wow, look at that! They look so good out of the oven! It seemed like a ton of candy when I was making the little dough balls, but after cooking it looked just right!

img_8432

So here is my hand holding one type of cookie and while I look at another type of cookie; oh what an amazing time we live in! They were delicious btw =)

Alright, I’ll try to get back into the habit of posting! I can do it!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

