Dirty Brownies

Made some Dirty Brownies last weekend. Still have two brownies left, they are super filling! The concept of Dirty Brownies is that you layer brownies, Oreo cookies, and chocolate chip cookies together to make super thick brownies!

I don’t have a brownie recipe that I use, so I just Googled one up real quick! This is “Katherine Hepburn’s Brownies” that I got from the New York Times.

Her recipe is as follows:
1/2 Cup Cocoa Powder
1/2 Cup Butter
2 Eggs
1 Cup Sugar
1/4 Cup Flower
1 Cup Chopped Nuts (I Added Chocolate Chips Instead)
1 Tsp of Vanilla (I Added More)
Pinch of Salt (I Skipped This Part)

img_9625

I always think it fun to melt butter in a pan like this so I took a pic!

img_9628

All mixed up, just waiting for the chocolate chips! I ended up baking it for about 20 minutes before adding on the Oreos and the chocolate chip cookie dough~

img_9630

img_9631

img_9632

Since I had refrigerated the cookie dough while the brownies baked, the dough was not super spreadable … like not at all! So, I just put strategically placed cookie dough clumps on the brownies!

img_9636

img_9645

After adding the cookie layers, I let it bake for another 20 minutes … after I took it out and let it cool I realized I didn’t put parchment on the bottom of the pan!

img_9644

Crumble Crumble Crumble

I did use some amazing spatula maneuvering to get the remainder of the brownies out in a more square like shape.

And, last pic! This is still in my fridge waiting to be cleaned .. Ah man, forgetting to use parchment is a bummer!

 Well, those were fun to make! I just used my normal cookie recipe for the dough so I knew it would be yummy! I gave half of the pan of brownies to my Grandparents for eating, they liked them too!

I make these a few times a year and always enjoy them! Of course … I really just enjoy adding Oreos to things =p

Leave a Reply

