Football Cupcakes! Featuring Gluten Free Vegan Cake Mix!

Made these for my Grandpa’s Birthday a few weekend’s ago. Of course, I got the idea from Pinterest! This was my first time trying this chocolate cake mix, I picked it up at Wholefoods and was hoping it would be great! And, it was!

I was worried that it was a bit pale at first, though it did have a distinct chocolaty smell!


I
f I’m remembering correctly, then the recipe asked for me to add almond milk and vegetable oil. I am not a vegan, just a vegetarian, so I used normal milk. Well, I used powdered milk mixed with water because that is what I use for baking mostly =)

I used green cupcake liners and baked it for a bit over 30 minutes in the oven.

They certainly had a rich chocolate color after baking! I put them in the freezer to have them completely cool while I prepared the frosting.


The same brand of cake mix also had a frosting but I made my own since I like it best! Butter, powdered sugar, vanilla extract, milk and coco powder … done!

I did a single pass over with the frosting and realized it wasn’t “poofy” enough, so I did a second layer of sorts.

Then I did awkward looking white stripes with frosting that I had removed from the chocolate batch before I added the chocolate =) I was planning ahead!



They looked pretty cute and I only made a dozen (the cake mix says it only makes a dozen!). Yay, Packers! They should be in the Super Bowl pretty soon! My Grandpa will be really happy about that! =)

Leave a Reply

