English Toffee!!

First attempt at English style Toffee. It should have had chocolate on both sides but I got tired.

The ingredients were really simple for this. a Full box (2 cups) of butter, 2 cups of sugar, 1.25 cups of chocolate chips, 1 tsp of vanilla extract, and a small bag of nuts (I choose almonds like the Enstrom brand).

img_9970

It is always fun melting butter in a pan. The thing I wish I had had, and have now, is a candy thermometer! Very helpful I assume (and will confirm this theory soon!).

img_9971

After the butter was melted, I added the sugar and the vanilla extract … this is where I think my Toffee ended up with most of its flaws. It should boil at a specific temperature for a specific amount of time until it reaches the right color … yeah, I didn’t do that.

img_9973

I did toast my almonds in the oven though while the sugar and butter melted/heated! I was proud of that!

Then I minced the almonds and added them to my toffee!

img_9977

img_9976

Oh, it’s so pale! That means I messed up though …

img_9978

I lightly tried to press the almonds into the toffee so they would stick. The plan was “more almonds = more yum!”, it worked out pretty good.

After adding the almonds, I put the tray in the freezer to harden. Thankfully it did! It looked even whiter when I pulled it out though! ><

img_9985

The next and basically final step is to add the chocolate! This was super basic chocolate prep. Get out the double boiler, put it over a bot of boiling water, and add the chocolate chips! I like milk chocolate more than semi-sweet so I used the Ghirardelli ones!

img_9986

I used my silicone spatula to spread the chocolate around and then finished it with more almonds!

img_9987

I put it into the freezer again and the result was a giant slab of frozen candy … wth! I’m not sure why I thought this was a good idea lol ><

img_9997

Since the sugar/butter didn’t boil at the correct temperature the candy was not a “hard crack” texture and so it had to be cut into pieces as it didn’t break on its own. I have since made another batch that had its own set of flaws but turned out much darker and crispier!

img_9998

I don’t like to put my sob story at the top because the posts should be about the food imo! But, I will try at least to post some more as I basically have gone 6ish weeks without a post and that makes me a sad panda.

 

 

 

One thought on “English Toffee!!

Leave a Reply

