Kansha

Saw this cookbook online last week and thought I would love it! So, I went onto Amazon, made a choking noise when I saw the price, and ordered it!

Kansha: Celebrating Japan’s Vegan and Vegetarian Traditions


I chose to make three recipes from the book:
White Rice Enriched with Mixed Grains
Spicy Stir Fry
Skillet Seared Diakon

This was the first time I’d ever made recipes that actually used alcohol in them. I think that is because I don’t cook meat and I think alcohol in recipes is mostly a way to season meats … maybe? I wouldn’t really know …

I visited the closest Nijiya Market to pick up my Daikon as they don’t have it at my local grocery store. There is a new Sprouts near me though so I’m hoping I’ll be able to get it there! I can probably get it at Whole Foods but that is just as far away as Nijiya, just in a different direction.

This is the Skillet Seared Daikon as it’s nearing the end of its cooking. It smelled quite good as it is basically coated in soy sauce.

Above is the spicy stir fry which I only made with Daikon and carrots. The recipe suggested to add broccoli too but I forgot to buy any and didn’t want to make another trip to the store. I made this dish first because the recipe says it tasted best when served cold.

To make the rice in the rice cooker, I added about 1/4 of a rice cooker cup of 6 mixed grains (they came in a bag that way at the Nijiya Market) to my usual white rice and then increased the water accordingly. The black rice in the mix turned my white rice purple, and I loved it!

I made enough for my husband and I  for dinner. Though the vegetables were made with very similar ingredients, they had very different tastes!

This was just my first time using this cookbook, I’ll be using it every week while I try to learn some new recipes! =)

 

 

Leave a Reply

